top of page


To advance the goals and objectives of the Democratic Party through public interaction, political issue analysis, education, recruitment, fundraising, coordination and cooperation with residents, democratic organizations, and other community based activities to benefit the party and enhance our general welfare.


Courtney Finklea Green, M.F.A., Ed.S


Courtney Finklea Green is an educator, political strategist, advocate, entrepreneur, artist and speaker. More importantly, she is the proud mom to her son DJ. She has thirteen years of major account management, sales, government contracting and marketing experience in corporate America. Courtney is a co-founder of the Prince George's County chapter of “Maryland Women for Biden” with Maryland State’s Attorney, the Honorable Aisha Braveboy.

Giving back to the community is very important to Courtney. This is very evident in the past and current roles that she held. Currently, she is a member of the Junior League of Washington and is the Chair of the value resources committee, Jubilee JumpStart Committee. Courtney has served on the Executive Board as the Education Chair for the Prince George’s County Chapter of the NAACP. Due to her hard work and dedication regarding special education community-focused programming, she became the Director of Education for Maryland State Delegate and Chair of the Maryland Black Caucus, Del. Darryl Barnes.

Courtney Green_zoom out.heic
Troy Barrington Lily

Vice President

Troy Barrington Lilly is the current Mayor for the Town of Forest Heights. He is committed to working with disparate groups of people to solve community challenges. In Forest Heights, he serves as Chair of the Finance Advisory Committee, and is on the board of the Greater Oxon Hill Community Development Corporation.


As a local legislator, he has built strong relationships with municipalities and leaders in Prince George’s County and the Maryland General Assembly. He introduced legislation that formed a Youth and Community Development Bureau in Forest Heights as a collaboration with the County Council.

Troy Lilly-4.jpg
Helen Bearden

Corresponding Secretary


Rev. Helen Bearden serves as the Church Administrator (Minister of Administration and Operations) and the First Female Administrator at Fort Foote Baptist Church in Fort Washington, Maryland. She oversees administration and operations activities for the church working closely with its members, community activist, Prince George's County officials, State and Federal entities. 

Rev. Bearden has been successful in working with leaders to drive new initiatives with a primary focus of community outreach, youth development, and children services. The primary focus was to educate pre-school to middle school age students on the importance of First Responders (Fire Fighters, Police Officers, Emergency Medical Technicians) and how essential they are for our safety and security.

Screen Shot 2023-05-22 at 12.04.59 AM.png
Mary McIver

Recording Secretary


Mary McIver is originally from Washington, DC. Ms. McIver serves as the Secretary for the South County Democratic Club. After serving 20 years as a federal budget analyst and another 20 in program analysis she retired as the Director of an Outreach and Education Program. Mary McIver has a Master’s Degree in Public Administration and a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management. Mary is very interested in women’s rights and equality of opportunity in general. She is a member of the Mature Adult Club and participates in numerous programs at St. Paul United Methodist Church where she worships. Mary has three adult children, eight grandchildren and seven great-grandchildren.

Mary McIver.jpeg
Mirinda Jackson


Ms. Jackson is the Minority Business Enterprise (MBE) Compliance Manager for Prince George’s County Council. In this role, she is responsible for ensuring local businesses are utilized at the National Harbor Project and other select major development projects in the County. As Compliance Manager, she negotiates the MBE Plans with developers for major development projects, which includes establishing contracting and employment goals, monitoring achievements, identifying and providing potential sources to ensure that local businesses and County residents benefit from the major development projects in the County. 

Mirinda Jackson2.jpg


Norma Ijadunola

Membership Co-Chair

Norma Nickens Ijadunola is a native Washingtoonian who has been a Prince George's County resident since 1974. She is a retired school administrator from the D.C, Public School System.  Norma has also worked for the Prince George's County Public School and the Department of Social Services in both Prince George's and Anne Arundel Counties.  Other professional experiences include work for the U.S.. Department of Educaation, National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)/Westat.  She holds a Bachelor's Degree in Education and a M. Ed in Psychology and Counseling.  Norma currently resides in Accokeek with her husband Rauph.  

Norma Ijadunola.jpg
Rita Henry

Membership Co-Chair

Rita has been the Office Manager in Council Member At-Large Mel Franklin since December 2010 and a resident of Clinton for 25 years. She currently attends Mt. Ennon Baptist Church. Rita retired from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) May 10, 2010 after nearly 30 years of service working on the Hurricane, Earthquake and National Dam Safety Programs as a Program Specialist. In this capacity, she served as liaison with Federal and State officials and the private sector. Working on these programs provided her travel throughout the United States enlightening the communities on FEMA’s authority mandated by Congress. She managed the National Dam Safety Grant
Assistance Program with a budget over seven years of approximately $22M.

Laverne Scott


LaVerne Poteat Scott has resided in Prince George’s County, Maryland since 1980. Recognized as a “doer” in her community, LaVerne is fully engaged with the Tantallon North Area Civic Association in Fort Washington and routinely works to address residential issues of Southern Prince George’s County, Maryland. As a community leader, she has advocated funding for the District VII - Police Department in Prince George’s County and was actively supporting efforts to obtain funding for a swimming pool in the Southern Regional Technology and Recreation Complex. She has an unwavering commitment to the citizens of Prince George’s County and works to ensure positive outcomes in the political processes.

Laverne Scott pic.png
Shirley M. Anglin

Community Outreach Coordinator

Ms. Shirley M. Anglin is a 40-year resident of Prince George’s County

and currently serves as Administrative Assistant for the Prince

George’s County Council. Previously, she spent eight years as Office

Manager and Citizen Services Specialist for Former Council Member

Obie Patterson, District 8, Prince George’s County. Ms. Anglin spent an extensive professional career of more than 30 years in the Federal Government at major agencies such as Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Transportation Security Administration, and the United States Department of Agriculture. She has specialized experience of more than 35 years in human resources and program management, financial analysis, and research methods.

Shirley Anglin.png
bottom of page